The Pain Inside

The Pain Inside

I can feel the pain that lies within.

Just below the surface it lurks

Always waiting to emerge.

It doesn’t care who it hurts

As long as it feeds off our lives.

But when you turn your back on those who care,

Those who merely want to help,

You let the pain and anger win.

You let the demon thrive.

Slay the dragon,

Slay the beast.

A kind word can do so much.

Sometimes it’s all that’s needed to free your soul

Or make us more aware.

Maybe I’m blind.

I know sometimes I just can’t see.

But it’s not intentional.

I can only know what you tell me.

You spat the venom.

You turned your friends.

I love you but this has to end.

What would it take to make amends?

Don’t let the pain and anger win.

Without it the demon can not survive.

It can not sink its teeth or claws

And tear at you from inside.

You can beat this

I know you can.

All it takes

Is a helping hand.

Slay the dragon,

Slay the beast.

Let love save you from yourself.

So that one day,

You shall have peace.

Leave a Reply

