Review of Unnatural by Leah D.W.

 

Unnatural

By ~ Leah D.W.

Genre ~ Paranormal

Unnatural

 

~ Blurb ~

Witches scheming in the night,

Werewolves hunting during a full moon,

A vampires eyes ever watching…

This collection of short stories are filled with the dark tales of the supernatural and the powerful, with roaring dragons, their wings shadowing the skies, and ghosts who aren’t as deadly as rumors may tell.

Enter a world of the paranormal, but be warned: not all fairytales end in a happily ever after.

 

~ Sandi’s Review ~

Leah D.W.’s Unnatural is a compilation of short stories that are a must have for anyone who loves the paranormal. I found myself getting so absorbed in her characters I was disappointed when the stories ended. I wanted to know more! There were a few I think would be great as full length novels or even novellas. I can only hope that someday we will be allowed to read more about them. From Aaron to Anna to Marcus and Axel everyone will find something to love in this book. You must add it to your reading list!

~ Interview with Leah ~

1. Where do you get your writing inspiration from?

It could be a picture I’ve seen, a song playing on the radio or even what someone said. Sometimes the idea for a story or character just pops into my head and the rest follows as I start planning it out.

2Did you have to do any research for Unnatural? If so what?

I did research for Full Moon Blues, about the myth of how the seventh son of a seventh son becomes a werewolf and for The Devil’s Belt I researched about a French legend of the first werewolf that gave me the inspiration for the short story. I usually either make up my own places or use my knowledge of myths and paranormal creatures to create my characters. Most of my knowledge of these things is what I have read about in other novels or seen on TV or movies.

3.  Is there a genre you haven’t written in that one day you’d like to tackle?

I would love to write horror and crime mysteries. I am now only busy with paranormal stories and I would love to do some suspense thrillers that are just fiction and have no monsters in them. I love writing paranormal and will never stop but writing something else would be great as well.

4. Out of all the books you have written, do you have a favorite?

My favourite so far is The Runaway’s Secret, it has all my favourite characters in it and the academy for supernaturals is a place I would love to visit, plus meeting Solomon would be a dream come true haha.

5. Is there any Author you would like to collaborate with on a project?

I have several. The awesome ladies at Bayou Brew Publishing of course, Richelle Mead, Kelly Armstrong, Josephine Angelini…the list goes on. It would be a dream come true to work with any one of them, and I have already had the pleasure of brain storming with Monique o’Connor James which was such a great experience.

6. Do you have a favorite Author? If so, who and why?

Definitely Cassandra Clare. She is my all time fave author and a great inspiration. I can only dream of having my books become as popular as hers.

7. How did you celebrate the first time you signed with a publisher?

I basically did a happy dance and told everyone I knew.

8. Lastly, do you have any advice for other aspiring authors?

Just keep on writing. There were many times I wanted to give up, to change my dream but I stuck to it and everything fell in place. Just keep going, and never give up. If a story isn’t working for you then get a new idea, even if you stick with the same characters.

Short n Sweet:

Whipped cream or Hot Fudge? Hot fudge! I am a chocoholic and proud!

Silk or Lace? lace

Hot or Cold? cold

Boxer, Brief, or Commando? Lol *blush* boxer..

Black or Red? black

Hot Tub or Pool? pool

 

~ About Leah ~

Leah DW

 

I am 21 years old and currently a journalism student at my local university. I live in South Africa in a town called Bloemfontein with my family and two beloved dogs. I have been writing since the age of 13 and my first published work is a short horror story titled Dracula’s Mistress in the Love Kills anthology. I am busy working on a number of novels and I am an editor/proof reader for Bayou Brew Publishing.

I love writing in the genres of paranormal romance, fantasy fiction and historical fiction and I am a proud bookworm with a mountain of reads stacked up in my room. I am also studying criminology in order to be able to write mystery horrors.

My first book that has been published is Unnatural, a collection of paranormal short stories that are full of action, adventure and amazing characters. My second novel, The Runaway’s Secret, is a vampire novel with lots of adventure, romance and comedy, due for release on the 25th of May. I am currently busy writing a paranormal witch novel titled Demon Princess.

I also have short stories in various anthologies. Love Kills, Unhappily Ever After; fairy tales with a twist, Becoming Strange, Wonderstruck and Soul Games.

~ Excerpt ~

from Full Moon Blues:

 

Aaron’s whole body shook as the gaze of the moon upon him awakened the beast within. He tried to stop it, to lull it back to sleep, but it always came out when it was a full moon. He dropped onto all fours and heaved out deep pained breaths as his body started to attack itself.

It wasn’t natural to be like this. His body wasn’t built to withstand such changes. But he would rather live with it than watch one of his other brothers have such a terrible blight.

A cry got stuck in his burning throat, and everyone watched silently as he lowered his head to press his forehead against the cool steel floor of the cage, chains rattling loudly into the quiet night.

A slight hum started to spread within his bones, and sweat rolled down his face and back as his body broke in on itself and then rebuilt into the image of the beast.

Aaron watched as his nails grew and scraped against hard metal and his dark hair spread across the rest of his body, covering it completely with ink black fur under his shirt and swimming trunks.

His vision darkened, but Aaron didn’t panic. He knew that it would return sharper and better, in a few seconds. He would be able to see any and every creature or thing that he came across. He would be able to follow their every move as they try to run away from the beast, but they never make it.

The beast was just too powerful. He would scream at it, beg it to stop, but it was blind to its bloodlust. All it wanted to do, all that it knew how to do was kill.

 

~ Links ~

http://www.facebook.com/leahdwauthor

www.bayoubrewpub.com

http://www.amazon.com/Unnatural-ebook/dp/B00C4XJ4W6/ref=sr_1_4?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369620676&sr=1-4

 

Leave a Reply

